Beyond Mike ‘n Mitch

There is a lot going on in my life now, but I don’t want to lose the cooking and food focus on the Mike Mitch project so I decided to write a bit here. I am starting a new job in a week and I did talk about that on Mike/Mitch, but there is so much to tell that I wanted another outlet for that. Also we are getting close to spring and I will be running again, which always give me way too much time to think about things.

Today I went running for the first time in about 2 months. I also played racquetball with my friend Chris last night. After so much inactivity my body is not very pleased with me now, but it felt great while I was doing it. Kira let me sleep in and then woke me up by saying, “I was thinking about going for a run outside.” There was beer involved after the racquetball so I groggily got up and put on my running stuff.  It was a warm winter day in Minnesota, by which I mean it was around 20 degrees and the wind wasn’t blowing too hard. I was glad for my gloves and double layers, but it wasn’t too bad. The best part, other than running with Kira again, was that I got to break in my new Garmin Forerunner 205.. I got it for Christmas and I haven’t been willing to face the cold to go out and try it. I haven’t figured out all the bells and whistles on it, but it was fun to play with a new toy

After that Kira and I went to the Honda dealership to look at a used Honda, which we would up buying. It is a blue 2006 Honda Odyssey Touring. We had a Honda Odyssey until about three months ago and we had to give it up because it just didn’t make sense to have two vehicles (among other reasons, but that is the gist.) With the new job we need to go back to being a two car family and it also works better financially. Here is a trick I am going to have to remember the next time I go to buy a car. We told the salesman that we had to pick up our daughter at a specific time and we would only be able to buy if they could do it quickly. They put together the deal as fast as they could and we were in and out in record time. They didn’t make the deadline we gave them, but Melanie was able to get a ride home. I was glad they got us out quickly though because still I had to cook dinner. We had guests coming over and I didn’t want to be serving too much after they arrived.

I got a package from the new job today that had some informational letters, two books on leadership and business, and a flash drive with information about the company on it. It is very exciting to see how organized and professional this company is especially considering they have just a little over 100 employees. I haven’t had much chance to look through it today, but I am looking forward to immersing myself into this company’s culture. The books that came with the package are Good to Great (which I have read before) and Six Thinking Hats. Given the title of my blog the second title seems rather auspicious. I’ll try and write a quick review of each after I read them (or reread them as the case may be).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

