Green Girl Shuffle

This past weekend I spent some quality time with the Green Girl. We went out to lunch at the Macaroni Grill and then went and saw the movie Coraline in 3D. I have become a Neil Gaiman fan more for his blogging and works of prose than for the Sandman graphic novel that gained him his notoriety. He just won the Newbery for his new book, The Graveyard Book and based on the success of Coraline I am guessing we will see this one on the big screen as well. The Green girl and I had a good time despite having to overcome some logistical obstacles to get to see the movie. Or as she put it, the universe didn’t really want us to see the movie that day. We got a late start and hit traffic on our way to the restaurant. We rushed through our very tasty lunch that included some amazing warm salty bread. We then ran over to the theater to find that the movie was sold out. We returned home to gather more information and find a new theater. We found one that I had been to before, but figured I would get there faster if I used my new TomTom to get us there. I entered in the location and we took off. Right away I wasn’t sure of the way Tom was taking us, but I figured it was a short cut. It’s always worked before and Tom has a better sense of direction than I do. A short while later Tom announced that we had reached our destination, but as the Green Girl an I looked around at the residential street we were on we realized that Tom was very wrong. We were on the right street so I just kept going hoping that we would come to the theater. Surprisingly that theory worked and we managed to get in get our popcorn and sit down before the opening credits were finished.

Over lunch the Green Girl and I talked about school and life in the 8th grade. She recently went to a dance and I asked her what types of music they listened to and her reply made me feel old because it was a paradigm shift from when I was a kid. She told me that people just bring their iPods and they take turns putting them in the cradle to play. She admitted that this led to some pretty interesting mixes of music, but described it all in such a way that it was clear she didn’t know of a different way to have a dance. I thought about explaining about DJs and records, but I didn’t want to let on how exactly old I was feeling.

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

