With Three You Get a Family

One of my favorite people at work brought his new son in today. He now has the same configuration in his family as we do in ours, two older girls and a baby boy. I gave him a hard time about how they are now out numbered, but really the third one is the easy one. Or at least having the third doesn’t seem to make it seem like more work. After all if all of your spare energy goes into parenting (and it does at that age), then you can’t possibly work harder at it. It just prolongs the time until they are all self sufficient. I’ve been ruminating on parenting lately. Seeing the baby today made me realize that I don’t think about those baby years very much and how they all seem like a blur. A recent piece of wisdom I picked up about parenting is, "The days are long, but the years are short." The second half of that is the hard one to remember particularly on those long days. The Green Girl is all the proof I need that it’s true. She’s thirteen now and I can’t even remember the person I was when she was an infant. I’m thinking he must have been a half way decent bloke – just look how she’s turned out so far.

 

 

[I stole that little saying from a web site called The Happiness Project written by Gretchen Rubin]

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

