Some Like It Hot

The weekend was pretty busy, but not like last week where things actually got accomplished. This weekend started out taking Little Wolf to Archery on Saturday morning. He was feeling better so we decided to risk it and he did get to shoot a few arrows before he decided that his "tummy hurts." I think he just didn’t want to wait 45 more minutes to shoot a few more arrows. The lines were long at this district wide Cub Scout event and I spent most of the time mentally critiquing the line management. They could really learn a few things from the nice people at Disney. We had to leave early anyway so that the Wolf could go ice skating.

Turns out he didn’t want to go to skating. This is common for the kids to forget that activities are fun until they get there, but given his convalescence the day before we decided it would be alright if he skipped a day. The Kitten went to ice skating without him, Hot Teacher went cross country skiing, Green Girl went snow boarding and I went grocery shopping. I made Potato Curry Soup for dinner and that was pretty much our Saturday.

Sunday Hot Teacher and I went to see a play with the local family (Aunts, Uncles, BIL and Stray Cat). It was called The Ice Fishing Play and if you are from Minnesota it was pretty clever and amusing, but at the same time a little depressing. After the play we all went out for Indian Food at Gandi Mahal. I had the Vindaloo with Chicken and asked for it bahati-mirchi (hot). The waitress tried to talk me out of it, but I wasn’t having it. I had already talked myself out of the extra hot, and was looking forward to really just having my mouth explode. I was not disappointed. The hot was really hot, but not so hot I couldn’t taste the flavors of the dish. It was, however, hot enough that I broke out in a sweat across my brow and the back of my neck. As I visibly had to wipe my face I became the source of several jokes around the table at this point. All I can say is that it was worth it and I can’t wait to have the leftovers for lunch (at home where no one can see me sweat.)

This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

