Now We're Cooking

We are hosting a New Year’s Eve party at our house tonight and I agreed to make my soon to be famous White Chicken Chili. Since I will not have time to make it when I get home from work today I decided to make it over the weekend. I then got lazy and figured I could make it the night before. Which is why I was cooking last night from about 8-11. As a way to spend an evening it has much to reccomend itself over my usual nights – plopping in front of the TV and doing nothing. Compared to my duel with the printer last night it was down right heavenly. I’ve recently started doing a lot more cooking because I have found that I enjoy it. I now realize that this chili recipe actually was the start of it a couple years ago. I was out at a restaurant  and had this amazing white chili. After raving about it for weeks I thought, "Hey, I bet I could make that." So I searched and found a recipe that looked good on Epicurious.com, a site that I had never heard of prior to that. I made it and it was nothing like the Chili i had at the restaurant, but it was delicious. I’ve made it a few times since and added a couple of other recipes that I make pretty regularly. In the last few months have really gotten into cooking and I pretty much always cook on the weekend. I got a great set of spices for Christmas and I now have an awesome 12" covered skillet. (It’s very shiny.) I also now have a set of 1 c. glass prep bowls. I got everything set up last night and felt like I could have been on a cooking show.
 
White Chicken Chili
Ingredients:
  • 1/2 pound dried navy beans, picked over (Canned Navy Beans work too – use 2 cans)
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup chicken broth
  • 2 cups half-and-half
  • 2 teaspoon Tabasco, or to taste
  • 2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon salt, or to taste
  • 1 teaspoon white pepper, or to taste
  • two 4-ounce cans whole mild green chilies, drained and chopped (or fresh roasted green chilies)
  • 5 boneless skinless chicken breast halves (about 2 pounds), cooked and cut into 1/2-inch pieces (saute in butter,garlic, onion ,dahs of chili pwoder and tabasco)
  • 1 1/2 cups grated Monterey Jack (about 6 ounces)
  • 1/2 cup sour cream

Preparation: In a large kettle soak beans in cold water to cover by 2 inches overnight. Drain beans in a colander and return to kettle with cold water to cover by 2 inches. Cook beans at a bare simmer until tender, about 1 hour, and drain in colander. In a skillet cook onion in 2 tablespoons butter over moderate heat until softened. In a 6- to 8-quart heavy kettle melt remaining 6 tablespoons butter over moderately low heat and whisk in flour. Cook roux, whisking constantly, 3 minutes. Stir in onion and gradually add broth and half-and-half, whisking constantly. Bring mixture to a boil and simmer, stirring occasionally, 5 minutes, or until thickened. Stir in Tabasco, chili powder, cumin, salt, and white pepper. Add beans, chilies, chicken, and Monterey Jack and cook mixture over moderately low heat, stirring, 20 minutes. Stir sour cream into chili.

 

 
 
This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

